The next interesting village on the road from Alajuela to Zarcero and Ciudad Quesada is San Ramon. Its most important building is the Catedral de San Ramon, which is on the eastern side of the park. The Parque Central is also called Parque Alberto Manuel Brenes in honor of a local botanist.
The supporting frame of the rather recently built church is made of Krupp steel, imported from Germany and welded into place at San Ramon. Elements of pseudo-Baroque architecture, superimposed on the relatively new structure, make it appear far older and grander than it actually is. The interior of the cathedral also seems to have been designed largely for show.
The Palacio Municipal is on the northern side of the Parque Central. It was built in 1893 in the style of a feudal mansion and features a lovely inner courtyard and airy rooms with high ceilings. In 1983 it was made a national monument. Some of its rooms are now used by the University of Costa Rica as lecture halls. Next to the main entrance of the Palacio Municipal is the Museo de San Ramon. Students created the museum and manage it very effectively. Its collection of historic photographs, prints, sketches and drawings give the visitor an excellent insight into the history, culture and society of the town. One room of the exhibit demonstrates how simply the campesinos lived around the turn of the century. In addition, the museum is a good place to get more information about San Ramon, the “home of presidents and poets” and its famous native sons.
On Saturdays the Feria del Agricultor, the weekly agricultural market, takes place in the center of town. Buyers and sellers from all over the Meseta Central, including the capital, gather in San Ramon, turning it into a busy, colorful marketplace.