Appomattox Court House
National Historical Park: Walk the old county lanes where Robert E. Lee, Commanding General of the Army of Northern Virginia, surrendered his men to Ulysses Grant, General-in-Chief of all United States forces, on April 9, 1865. Imagine the events that signaled the end of the Southern States’ attempt to create a separate nation. The National Park encompasses approximately 1800 acres of of rolling hills in rural central Virginia. The site includes the McLean home (surrender site) and the village of Appomattox Court House, Virginia, the former county seat for Appomattox County. The site also has the home and burial place of Joel Sweeney – the popularizer of the modern five string banjo. There are twenty seven original 19th century structures on the site.
Operating Hours, Seasons
The Visitor Center is open daily in winter from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., and in summer from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. The Visitor Center is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years. Allow at least 2 hours to visit the historical village.
PLANE – The closest airport is in Lynchburg, VA, 25 miles (40.3 km) west.
CAR – The Visitor Center is in the reconstructed courthouse building on VA 24, 2 miles (4.8 km) northeast of the town of Appomattox, VA.
Parking areas, the Courthouse/Visitor Center, bookstore, restrooms, drinking fountains and living history programs are accessible. A braille map and folder, captioned slide program and large print brochures are available on request. Wheelchairs are available for use in the historic village and a stair climber is available at the McLean House as needed.
Learn More about the History of the Park
U. S. War Department Battlefield Site – June 18, 1930
National Historical Monument – August. 13, 1935
National Historical Park – April 15, 195