About 24 miles (40km) further west of Naseby, on a loop road off SH85, is the former gold-mining township of St Bathans. Strung along the main street are a number of buildings that date from the nineteenth century gold rushes. In those days the town had a loud, hard-drinking community of 2000 miners who were catered for by no less than thirteen pubs. Of these only the Vulcan Hotel (1869) has survived but it has no trouble catering to the needs of St Bathan’s present population of around twenty. Blue Lake, a popular picnic spot close to town, was formed by miners sluicing for gold.